horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Escape to Victory

Movie Reference 15/31

You can forget evading the Nazis in the midst of a staged propaganda football match with an incomprehensible American boxer playing as your 'goalie'. After a 0-0 draw with Portsmouth last night things aren't looking good for us. 'Us' being Newcastle United.

Mind you, with the other Geordie at work, I've been going through the remaining fixtures and two home wins could, remarkably, save our bacon. It's still a long shot (we've only won 6 matches all season, the least in the league), but at least last night we were creating chances. So, as long as Michael Owen is never seen anywhere near a black and white shirt again and the rest of them discover even just a tiny fragment of the passion for the club which the fans possess...

Footballers today. Tsk. Very few of them play for the jersey anymore. Massive wages and girlfriends gracing the pages of Loaded and FHM magazines. That's what's important. And yet I still can't turn off from the football, and my club.

Managed to pop my shoulder taking these shots as well as it happens. I was just mucking about with the ball, about to come in because it had got a bit damp and drizzly, when a combination of the gathering wetness of the grass, and old boots with virtually no tread on the bottom, saw me lose my standing foot and wind up flat on my back. As I went down I felt the shoulder just creep out of joint, then pop back in as I hit the deck.

See. This is why I gave up playing football. I always ended up injured. And it then kept me off the bike. The last time a joint did anything like that I'd torn my cruciate ligament in the right knee, and it went misdiagnosed for 5 years before it finally got reconstructed. Thankfully my shoulder is just aching a wee bit, but I can put plenty pressure on it. The things we do for blip.

Discard:
Ole' Blue Eyes is Back (a technically superior shot, but no tales of pain were attached to it - and yes, that's my perfectly natural eye colour).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.