Letchworth Architecture

Letchworth-Garden-City was the first Garden City. Designed by Ebeneezer Howard, a quaker, in 1904. It has some fabulous buildings in the town centre, particularly the rather splendid council offices at the top of the town. 

It was a very different day from yesterday, clear blue skies and sunny. I took a walk round the town first thing, (primarily to get a blip) - then visited an old school friend I haven't seen since 1976. Was really great to catch up, and I was blown away by his house, (where he used to live with his parents) - It's a "maximalist", very Bohemian place. 

After visiting G, I drove down to Knebworth to visit another old friend, a girl I used to work with in my Uncles Chip shop in Hitchin when I was about 16. 

So wonderful to meet up with people I havent seen for 45 years, and to pick up our friendships like we've not missed a day!

Then had the pleasure of driving 270 miles home. Heavy traffic, half of it in the dark. Felt a lot longer than it was.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.