Ramblings from Zambia....

By dcafrica

Bananas

In Malawi if you want fruit or vegetables and haven't time to go to the market, we have many sellers who carry their wares on their heads. This lady was selling bananas. I was going to make it black and white but decided it was good to see the colour of the bananas! Women here are very strong carrying immense weights on their heads - buckets of water, even bags of maize.

Traditionally ladies wear a piece of cloth called a chitenje. When I came to Malawi it was illegal for women to wear trousers and even today many people are not comfortable to wear trousers so they put the chitenje over them when walking around so as not to offend anyone! If I am in town or going to a village I always wear my chitenje!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.