Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Woolwich dock

I got myself a new phone today.  I have to say the Apple store at Chatswood is much better organised then my local one.  Yes you had to queue up after doing you Covid checkin but someone met you on the queue and checked and then another person asked you what you were looking for and put what I wanted aside.  In no time I was at the head of the queue and being served.

I dropped in and saw a friend after I sorted my phone out and then afterwards stopped by Woolwich dock.  I thought some of the Sydney to Hobart maxi yachts might be there, Wild Oats was the only one, and I think it is permanently docked there.

Woolwich dock is a dry dock which was officially opened in 1901.  By 1917 it employed (says the internet) over 1500 people.  Subsequently it was used in war time to convert passenger ships to armed troopships and it was later purchased and used by the Army between 1963 and 1997.  

Due to its location at the junction of the Parramatta and Lane Cove Rivers, the area is known to its Traditional Owners – the Wallumedegal People – as Moocooboola meaning ‘the meeting of the rivers.’

More wetness again today, the worst so far.  You could barely see the Harbour Bridge in the background here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.