Do Germans make good TXTers?

I mean ... Why write a sentence when one word'll do the trick?

I had a fair idea, from 2 weeks' German at school + a grasshopper/Magpie mind, what it said, but just for fun I carried it across to Google© translator.

HEHE.
Where I discovered that
Holz = wood, which I knew.
Kohl = cabbage, which I knew.
but stick an "E" on and it becomes
Kohle = coal which was an obvious, and correct, guess.
I discovered, says Google, that Schwenk can be a pan, a wheel, a Panorama, etc.
Stuck together it has given me both "Grillpan" and "Swivel-grill".

So ... They've successfully turned "Charcoal-burning, rotating, barbeque" into a single word with no Twitter© characters wasted by gaps.

We shot off up to the Carlisle Easter Continental market to see if the bloke selling these was there again.
:¬((

Local Rhyme to finish.

" April Fyull's deed an gone,
Thoo's a fyull fer thinkin on.
Up a ladder, doon a Stee,
Thoo's a bigger fyull ur me."

"Stee" = "Style"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.