JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 341: Tuesday morning

I almost missed this, after hitting snooze twice, but I dashed to the balcony just before the colours faded, and today the focus on the zoom lens worked. I intended to post a Tiny Tuesday photo of the picture behind today's centimetre square door on my little Advent calendar, a holly leaf and berries. A friend sent it last year, and apart from its small size it is like the ones I enjoyed as a child, with a picture behind every door, slightly translucent if held or stuck to a window. However, the light was too low for me to manage the macro lens very well, and nothing was really well focused, so I'm pleased to have an alternative.

It's been miserably wet and windy for most of the day, though we are certainly not seeing the worst of storm Barra. I hope friends in the north and west are safe, dry and warm. I've been horrified to hear of people with electricity still only just restored ten days after the last storm, and it has prompted us to consider contingency plans for the eventuality of extended loss of power, which would be a serious problem for J. 

This evening I joined a webinar about care funding, which was packed with nearly two and a half hours of non-stop useful information and left me with head spinning and five pages of notes.  This follows the weekend's online disability film festival - just two events accessible from home to people around the UK, or in the case of the festival, people from around the world, which may not have happened at all without the huge rush to Zoom and other platforms triggered by the pandemic. For many in the disability community, this has been a really positive development, and one which will certainly continue to be important even when those who have been shielding return to meeting in person. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.