Trial and Error

By DawnC

Stonehenge

A while ago Son1 delighted his mother by (quite out of the blue) expressing an interest in seeing Stonehenge and hence in archaeology so we fixed a date for today. So I dragged myself out of my sick bed and we set off first thing to beat the hordes.

As Son1 was finding it all interesting and had even listened attentively to my pre-visit lecture on the Neolithic on the drive there, we then walked over to look at some of the adjacent burial mounds. Following refreshments from the Stonehenge Care we then visited the Woodhenge site, West Kennet long barrow, Silbury Hill via a chalk horse (not sure which one), and finally Avebury.

A thoroughly enjoyable day out but we are both now worn out and I need a lie down.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.