pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

The Runger Gains

I could fight the urge no longer and so when midday hit, I donned my shorts and running tops before I slipped into my Hokas for an overdue 5k.

I hadn’t run for a while and my goodness did it show, but it was just what the doctor ordered as although I was sore after it, I felt better in myself. I’d fallen back into bad habits lately (eating crap and not getting enough strenuous exercise) which coupled with a trying and stressful period, has led to a decline in my mental health and an unwelcome repetition of a self-destructive pattern, which only exacerbates all of the above. Anxiety really is the gift that keeps on giving…

Jeez, when I see it written down like that, it sounds so much worse than it actually is! I wouldn’t mind, but I’ve had a really good day with getting some more clients over the line with their renewals and clearing some other sticky stuff. Even the children have behaved themselves and not caused any stress (no mean feat considering how excited the wee ones are at present). 

The return to running is timely for another reason in that the suit I will be wearing to a wedding in January arrived today. Firstly, it is way too cool for me. Secondly, if I am to remain within the trousers (skinny fit) throughout the course of the day, I am going to have to take it easy on the mince pies and birthday cake (it’s mine in January – spend limit £50, ok guys?) and effectively run the same distance as Forrest Gump between now and then!

All that is assuming of course that Omicron doesn’t throw a spanner in the works. Hopefully there won’t be too many people like a mother I overhead in the playground this morning who said: “I’ve already had two vaccine shots, why should I get a third? I’ve done enough, what’s he (Bohnson) done?” 

The crisis of credibility is in full swing. 

Who fancies a jog?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.