Pochard - 91

No game for Chester today as they had been knocked out of the FA Trophy a couple of weeks ago. This gave me the opportunity for a spot of groundhopping and I elected for Burscough's new ground for their match against Longridge Town.

I chose this game because it wasn't too far away and gave me a chance to visit Martin Mere which is only five minutes away from the ground. First of all I managed some geocaching in Ormskirk and Burscough itself before an enjoyable couple of hours wandering around the reserve. It was surprisingly quiet with most of the hides empty and I spotted a couple of new birds for the year. One of them was this pochard.

After leaving Martin Mere I parked at the ground and went to the Thirsty Duck at Burscough Wharf, another CAMRA pub, for a pint of pale ale from the Manchester Brewing Company.  

 At the game I was chatting with another groundhopper from Oldham when my friend Jon unexpectedly turned up. Ironically I had just been about to text him to ask him where he had gone today and it was great to have some company.

The ground itself was a new build with basic facilities and a 4G pitch so lacked any character. Meanwhile, over the fence, their old ground was being covered in new houses. The game wasn't bad with Burscough winning 3-0. There was also a fully deserved red card for the Longridge goalkeeper for striking a Burscough player although the striker's delayed reaction in falling over was a bit pathetic. I didnt bother taking my camera into the ground because it would have been a struggle with the light but the floodlights were pretty good so I would probably have been OK.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.