Padayon

Strava Day 204/75 Hard Off Phase Day 22. Reading, two liters and outdoor exercise is done. Am so calm that it is starting to concern me. I haven't escaped through Netflix for more than a month  and am now used to both white noise and the other louder ones. Still get distracted by imagery and photo opportunities but generally more focused on tasks. Am now able to ignore what used to irritate me years ago. Still working on how to limit the harsh self talk but definitely proud of my temperance as of late. Of course, success is never final and there is always room for improvement. Cleanthes, the philosopher who I read about this morning spent decades in pursuit of Zeno's recommended life virtues: Temperance (Moderation), Justice, Courage and Wisdom.
***
T is always funny without meaning to and am grateful for the bits where he is unapologetically himself. He is a self-proclaimed nerd and is proud of it. Remembering how my cousin used to tease me about being one when I was younger and unlike T, it made me uncomfortable then. Asked him how he knew the word "nerd" and he smugly replied that he watches Big Bang Theory and it is mentioned in some of the cartoons he watches. There are days he thinks he is a lot like Sheldon (lead character in the series) and even labels parts of his brain saying his "Biology brain" is bigger than the rest of us. I just laugh and remind him to not say that in front of others and that no matter how smart he thinks he is, he could always learn something from someone else.
***
Told T he should drink more water because he seems to have a cold. He then replied: "This is not a snot of sickness, this is a snot of sadness!" When I asked why he is sad, he said B has disabled his YouTube account and that he had hundreds of downloads which were gone. Some months ago, I showed him a photo of a homeless kid I saw on socmed being independent to hopefully give him perspective as to how privileged he is but it just resulted in a mope fest. This time, I just reminded him that his "dilemma" should not be one at all because he has extra time and we have internet. No one died and he did not get bitten by a shark so it is not really something to cry about.
***
Featured photo is of a coconut grinder with his vintage bike. Was really wanting to take photos of the sky with a few Christmas lights at a different vantage point but around 5:45, the lights were turned off so I made myself walk a different route to look for a different subject. My right leg has a sprain from my attempt at an intermediate yoga pose yesterday. It initially hurt but after shifting my focus on getting my 5:55 blip entry, it no longer does.
***
If you read this, thank you. If not, thank you still for dropping by. Padayon, the title, is a Bicol word which means to continue/keep going. Have a good one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.