A Meandering Life...

By Skeena

The North York Moors

Today we took a slow drive* around the western section of the North York Moors. The route took us through Boltby, Hawnby, past Snilesworth and back down to Osmotherley.

My main Blip is as we approached Hawnby (just to the right out of view). As you can see it was a misty day and the hills surrounding the village were nearly hidden.

The tributary of the River Rye and the Shepard's shelter next to the road in extras where taken near the foot of the hill on the right as it descends into the valley. The final image was my first of the day. Just outside Kirby Knowle and looking at the edge of what is the Moors where the trees cover the distant hillside. 

The drive covers farmland, steep hills and open grouse moors. I do wonder how some of the outlying farms and villages cope when the snow comes. I'm unlikely to venture up to take a look to see... 

*The app I have on in the car as I drive around notes your speed. Looking back on some sections of our route we had crept along so slowly the road was showing a red line to indicate there were hold-ups along the way! ;o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.