One daze at a time...

By Raheny_Eye

Work Withdrawal Symptom - day 1

First day of the holiday. I don't know what to do with myself. I am counting the minutes until I can go back to the Repair Factory. 

While trying to kill time I thought I'd do something highly unusual and went for a swim at the end of the West Pier. 
There was a group of kids and a man taking selfies by the lighthouse. As I walked back up the stairs, I heard one of the kids exclaim "Papa! Papa!  Le monsieur il a plongé  dans l’eau!" The dad muttered something in response which sounded highly sarcastic and definitely contained the word "cinglé". The other kids just looked on as if I had emerged from a UFO or from the vagina of a rhinoceros (like in that scene from Ace Ventura).
They were even more shocked when I wished them all a Joyeux Noel in French. The dad looked a bit embarrassed, trying to quickly recall the difference in decibels between whispering and muttering.  


The rest of the day was a drag. Without work, I found it hard to find a meaning to my day. 
In a fit of despair I zoomed the Ottawacker to kill another half hour. 
I wish I hadn't. He was just out of the shower and there are things that cannot be unseen. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.