JeanSnaps

By JeanSnaps

Goodbye Christmas !

Twelfth night isn't  till January 6th., I know but by then the shops will be pushing Valentine's Day. For me Christmas fades after Boxing Day and I am into a very pleasant lull until New Year's Eve and January which I start with good resolutions and searches for early crocuses in the garden.  There are usually one or two. 
   Today washing got done and bird food ordered after which I lay about nibbling leftovers and finishing a book I began not liking much and ended not able to put down.  Afterwards I was left at a bit of a loss with three books I didn't fancy until I remembered a friend had sent me a copy of Lucy Mangan's Bookworm, a memoir of childhood reading. Perfect !   Many of these books didn't exist in my childhood  but were published  during my career as a children's librarian so invoke nostalgia of a different kind.  Nuns in long black robes with wimples like sailing ships bringing classes from their school to the library.  Borrowing items from Madame Tussaud's for our window display. Authors and Illustrators visiting to give talks and sixties London doing its thing everywhere you went.  By the time I remembered  my blip it was dark and I was at a loss. Looked around for an indoor shot and didn't fancy anything until my winged cat caught my eye.  She's really a key ring but I gave her a place on my Christmas tree  and over the years she has settled in with the birds and they with her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.