Getting closer....

Removal men here this morning, packing the breakables and pictures ahead of Monday's move. Didn't think the boxes were things of beauty so it had to be a daffodil for today's blip. The wind is bowing them down and I just picked the ones already touching the ground. Trying out a new setting on my little camera, although I know its unusual to do monochrome flowers.

Snow is falling as I write, I hope it keeps fine for Monday ....



Daffodils

Small soldiers of brother sun,
Standing tall in the face of winter cold.
You move to the magical music of the wind
Kowhai carpet, defying winter's chill.
Triumphant trumpets heralding the new beginning.

David Middlemiss, Age: 13
Kerikeri High School
From Kids Talk Daffodils
poems by children

published in 2001 to raise funds for the Auckland Division Cancer Society, New Zealand

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.