One daze at a time...

By Raheny_Eye

Roadside refreshment

This morning we managed to leave the house at the record-smashing early hour of 9.00 am. 
In fairness we were dropping Mrs Raheny off at the airport before continuing on our journey to Mayo. 
There were tears at the drop off zone (Mrs Raheny) and last recommendations were proffered (Mrs Raheny) and a potentially lethal smell of petrol was detected from the car (Mrs Raheny) and mental images of the Dacia exploding in a ball of fire on the M4 were created (Mrs Raheny) before turning one's thoughts back to the top 10 most lethal airliner accidents of the last 50 years (Mrs Raheny) and the decision to eat the "lunchtime" turkey rolls at 9.35 am (Finn and I). 

As we had left quite early and my only cup of tea of the day had not fully kicked in, I decided to try a new pit stop just past Mullingar. It does not have a public toilet but compensates for this with a much more essential amenity: a lake with a diving platform. 

It's a pity that I forgot to pack a towel. I did have my red swimming shorts though. 
The local swimmers did not seem to mind catching a glimpse of my arse as I quickly changed and they were quite impressed by my post swim cormorant drying technique.

I was then fully refreshed and well able for the long drive to Nana's. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.