Living my dream

By Mima

Swallow

Walking down the road on a warm day means that our first stop is after just 400m, at the creek, for Bean to have a drink and cool her legs (and to stalk a floating leaf or two).

Today while she splashed about I wandered under under the wee road bridge, which is where I spotted this beautiful swallows’ nest, built around a huge bolt through the concrete. There are the remains of a less sturdy nest on the wall too.

The extra shows the intricacy of the design and construction.

I love the combination of concrete, stone, the creek, the nests and the lichen in the photo: nature making the most of a man-made structure.

There were two or three Welcome Swallows flying to and fro past me as I took the photos, but no babes in the nest.

Later on my neighbours mentioned they’d had a family of four babes plus adults lined up on their washing line up until a couple of weeks ago. We speculated that they had used this nest.

Bean joined me under the bridge and left wet paw prints behind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.