Glorious

It's what days off should be about; packing them with the things you don't get the opportunity to do otherwise.

Not the biking bit, but the exploring bit.

The local dam is in the process of having some major work done, and this has involved dropping the overall water level by a couple of metres. This means that what has been underwater for hundreds of years is now exposed, and there's now access to completely different views from the the usual path-bound ones.

At one point, the left shoe here was under a foot of smelly mud as I miscalculated what I thought was solid ground but turned out to be squelchy, smelly mud. The whole thing disappeared completely as it got sucked off (easy...) as I tried to scramble through the mire, and I had to dig deep to recover it to avoid of an unpleasant one-shoed cycle home. It was only mildly unpleasant after I'd scooped it empty of the stuff and squeezed my foot back in.

The ironic thing too was I'd, nearby, only a few minutes before, turned over a big yellow bit of plastic with the words "Danger! Deep Silt" printed on it. Cheers for that.

Clothes, shoes, bike, everything in a 40 degree pathetic wash as soon as I got home.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.