Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Common Mormon

Identifivation - Papilio polytes.

I see a lot of mormons, several species in fact, but they are extremely difficult to photograph. I actually blipped a female of this species some 16 months ago, but nothing since. This particular specimen is a male and so I am counting it as a new addition to my blip journal.

This is one of those species that always rests with its wings open, which is great for photography, but generally high up and well out of reach - not so good. One of the larger butterflies that I see, some 10cm or 4" wingspan. The first time one flies past your face will make you jump, but you soon get used to this as it is a regular occurrence.

Called mormons because the female is mimetic and exists in many forms or patterns, I guess a reference to the Mormon's polygamy practice. So glad to finally get this one onto blip, it has been bugging me for a long time.

Ironic that for the last couple of weeks I have been trying hard for butterfly shots and today I decided to shoot anything that comes along. I ended up with seven different butterflies and very little else. The blip monster is laughing his socks off at me!

DAve

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.