Magnificence!

Today I revisited Ely Cathedral in Cambridgeshire. 

A long day, with an early start. I saw the sunrise as I was driving to take my son back to Stansted for his return flight to Sweden. Driving south east as the sun comes up is challenging. I dropped J at the airport at 09.30, shook his hand and bade him farewell, then he was gone, swallowed by the crowds heading for departures. 

I then diverted to Ely. 

Previously I had spent a day just viewing and photographing the outside. Today was for the inside. A day isn't enough, it is overwhelmingly beautiful. My pictures cannot do it justice. The medieval architecture is hard to comprehend and I was in metaphorical heaven.

At half past two I was flagging and went for tea and cake in the splendid Almonry tea rooms. By then J was already home, sending pictures of the snow in Stockholm!

I reluctantly left Ely at three o'clock and on the drive home saw the sun going down. Driving west as the sun is setting is challenging!

Got home safe at half past six and had a relaxing evening with Mrs I watching TV.

Glad to be home but happy with a grand day out. 

Then had a call we didn't want. A,  my wife's sister's husband has had a heart attack. Today. 

As I write this he is in surgery.  Prognosis is good, although he is very poorly. Will know more tomorrow, but it puts my little jaunt into perspective.

I need a drink. Mrs I has asked me not to. So I respect her wishes, and have a coffee instead. 

Bugger.

*Please view extras, it is worth it, promise. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.