Pictastic

By Pictastic

Everyday’s a school day!

Went for a walk with hubby and dog today along the lade (in my new birthday wellies of course!). At the start of the walk is an old ruined church and cemetery. I blipped what’s left of the church as the light was lovely and golden, and the sky was a gorgeous clear blue. I looked it up later online and found out some more info:

‘The monument is… a well preserved example of a late medieval church. The quality of the masonry and the surviving features including the pre-Reformation bellcote and cross finial suggests that it was a relatively ambitious building.’

I was never really into history at school but now that I’m older, I find it fascinating to think of the people who built these buildings and what their lives were like. I wonder how many more years it can withstand? Plus I now know what a bellcote is! *

* I had to look it up: A bellcote, bell-cote or bell-cot is a small framework and shelter for one or more bells. Impressed that there is another entry with the tag #bellcote on here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.