Robert Dyas - Dorking!

So, I had 2 goals today, one of which was to pack up all the Christmas decorations and store them away. This was a big job and is done. My other project was to take a couple of barometers and 2 carriage clocks to the "Repair Cafe" in Dorking. I turned up to find no sign of life. Somessaged the organiser to be told that a cancellation had been posted on Facebook (Covid again). As I dont do Facebook, i had no idea. It was pouring with rain so v frustrating. So instead I took them into the horologist. They managed to get the carriage clocks going - result and sold me the right key for winding one (always a bonus). Yes they could have a look at the barometer but there is a six MONTH waiting list. We agreed that they would give me a shout when i reach the top of the list and I would enjoy it on the wall in the meantime.

So I then popped into Robert Dyas. I dont usually look at the walls at the back of the 1st floor but did today and saw this and various other paintings. The full explanation of this one is in my extra. However this painting is apparently from the early 17th century, possibly James 1st Royal Arms. Who knew! When RD was renovating the building a whole range of paintings were recovered and restored. Really interesting. 

20-22 Robert Dyas hardware. A sweeping 18th shop front. Originally the building had a 16th core but only the facade remains. A wall painting was found inside during demolition and part of Royal Coat of Arms. Site of the Chequers Inn. More at: 
http://edithsstreets.blogspot.com/2011/02/thames-tributary-pipp-brook-pipp-brook.html

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.