Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

Last Light

A glorious end to a gentle day. We began with a singing session - still on Zoom. And by the time we are allowed to meet all together in the same room, Robyn will have departed on maternity leave, and we'll be looking for a new leader. She will be a hard act to follow ....

In the afternoon we went to Kelso for a browse in the charity shops - the good folks of Kelso have excellent taste in literature. I got two books about the folk tales of the Travellers, the Scottish equivalent of tinkers, or gypsies. They have a rich musical tradition, but I don't know much about their stories, so that will be interesting to read about. I also scored a book called 'The Making of the Shetland Landscape' which I think may help me understand why my Shetland ancestors were forced to relocate in the early 19th century. 

As we were setting off home, the sky suddenly took fire. We walked up by the river terrace and were rewarded by this view, looking over the Tweed just above the Junction Pool.

Home now, and about to settle in for an evening of knitting. I've done about three inches of the eldest's Iceland jumper, and I'm a bit concerned that it doesn't look big enough to go round him - so I must knit on a bit and then measure it. Fingers crossed ...

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.