The Song of the Open Boat

One of the best things about spring (for me) is that all of my favorite local ponds have melted and I can see (and photograph!) reflections on their surfaces again!

Wednesday morning, I stopped by a favorite pond. You've seen this place before. Here are just a few of my prior blips featuring it.

Wednesday 17 October 2012: View from the Dock

Monday 22 October 2012: Not an Ending

Tuesday 20 November 2012: November

Tuesday 27 November 2012: Postcard from the Land of Enchantment

The local ponds are favorite places to visit in the mornings. On this particular morning, it was sunny and very quiet. A bit of mist was rising and the light coming in from the right illuminated it.

For the first time, the boat was lashed fast to the dock. I imagined that if a boat could sing, it would sing a song that went something like this:

Time, flowing like a river,
Time, beckoning me,
Who knows when we shall meet again
If ever . . .
But time
Keeps flowing like a river
To the sea


Here's a link to listen to the song: Time, by the Alan Parsons Project.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.