Twilight over the reed beds

Unusually for me, I've been outdoors for most of the day, enjoying the wonderful winter sunshine.  The rest of this week will be busy, so today I took full advantage of free time.
I went for a long walk with Marie this morning, starting near Redmires reservoir, then up onto the moors and over to Stanage Edge. Then back down to the reservoir. The views were fabulous, and one of them is in the extras.
After sorting out a few things at home in the early afternoon, I decided to drive over to Potteric Car nature reserve, sandwiched between major roads on the edge of Doncaster. It's well known for starling murmurations at this time of year.  It's run by Yorkshire Wildlife Trust, and is a tribute to what you can achieve with careful habitat management, even in the most unpromising of peri-urban fringes.
Anyway: I found my way to one of the recommended hides, and settled down to wait. The hide soon filled up, but we were all quiet, enjoying the twilight and scanning the peach-coloured sky for groups of starlings.
In the event, the sunset and twilight colours over the water and the reed beds were the really stunning sights.  I did get a few murmuration shots, but only when the light was really failing - you'll see the grainy results in the other extra.  By then, it was time just to sit and enjoy the sights and sounds, as the crowds of birds swished overhead before settling down to roost.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.