One of the many sculptures beside the Tay in Perth is “Menagerie” based upon a poem written by Perth’s best known poet, William Soutar.  After serving in the First World War, he contracted a chronic disease of the spine, making him bedridden for much of the rest of his life.  He has been described as being ‘in the ranks of the great diarists of the world’ and as ‘one of the greatest poets Scotland has produced’ his poems being written in Scots and English both for children and adults. 
This snake-like sculpture is called ”Menagerie” and shows some of the quirky animals he wrote about in his poems for children.
Below is one of the poems with the English translation with the craw, daw and wee snail in the extra.
Aince upon a Day
Aince upon a day my mither said to me:
Dinna cleip and dinna rype
And dinna tell a lee.
For gin ye cleip a craw will name ye,
And gin ye rype a daw will shame ye;
And a snail will heeze its hornies out
 And hike them round and round about
Gin ye tell a lee.
 
Aince upon a day, as I walkit a' my lane,
 I met a daw, and monie a craw,
 And a snail upon a stane.
Up gaed the daw and didna shame me:
Up gaed ilk craw and didna name me:
But the wee snail heezed its hornies out
And hik'd them round and round about
And -- goggled at me.
 
Once upon a time
Once upon a time my mother said to me:
Don’t tell tales and don’t steal
And do not tell a lie.
For if you tell tales a crow will name you,
 And if you steal a jackdaw will shame you;
And a snail will lift its horns out.
And swing them round and round about
 If you tell a lie.
 
Once upon a time, as I walked all alone,
I met a jackdaw and many a crow,
And a snail upon a stone.
Up went the jackdaw and didn’t shame me:
Up went every crow and didn’t name me:
But the tiny snail lifted its horns out
And swung them round and round about
And – goggled at me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.