Winter Scene: Railroad Tracks in Snow

We had a gorgeous afternoon, sunny and mild, and so my husband and I went walking at nearby Soaring Eagle Wetlands. The creek is about half frozen over at this point in the winter. We've got a week of really cold nights coming up. Then it will finish its freeze, I think.

There are railroad tracks that run along the wetlands, and I love them; I am a big fan of railroad tracks and trains. My dad spent many years employed as a railroad brakeman on the Enola yards, across the river from Harrisburg, and I remember smelling on him the scent of creosote and cold steel; the smell of the railroads.

The snow on these tracks was unbroken when we arrived, and I wondered - do the trains disturb the snow when they go over the rails? Or does the snow stay perfect, like this, under all those thundering wheels?

Here's a train song for a train picture. It's gotta be Johnny Cash, so here is Train of Love.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.