Return to the North

By Viking

Man vs Wild

TeeJay and I headed out up the owen Valley today for a blip drive and for what turned out to be a reccie for a hike next weekend!

There was lots to see and I took a few decent shots of a sheep's skull as well as some dandelion fairies but I saw this shot and it had to be my blip.

Initially I wanted a shot of the poplars slightly obscuring the recent snow but as I got out of the car to compose the shot I saw the sad photo attached to the gatepost. The photo is of Alistair Levy who went for a hike in the Kahurangi around Christmas and never came out. His body is still in the high country somewhere, while his wife and children are left to mourn the loss - with no definitive answers. A sobering thought and one that made me think differently about the view in front of me.

However good or clever or able we think we are, nature can always win. Alistair was an experienced hiker, I am but a novice. I will take heed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.