rower2012

By rower2012

Little Wattlebird

This morning when I was listening to the radio, I heard that there was a 30 year anniversary celebration today for the Nangawooka Flora Reserve, opposite Urimbirra Wildlife Park, near Victor Harbor.

Naturally we decided to visit having never been there before. This 2 hectare native garden was a revelation, packed with gum trees, native plants and hundreds of birds. We were the only ones there and both Paladian and I each got new birds for BBY.

I can see you!

The Little Wattlebird (Anthochaera chrysoptera) is the smallest of the wattlebirds and is found throughout south-eastern and south-western Australia and Tasmania. Their average size is 28cm with an average weight of 62g. Their name says little - but really I would not class them as small birds.

The Little Wattlebird is a medium to large honeyeater, but is the smallest of the wattlebirds. As with other honeyeaters, Little Wattlebirds feed on nectar, insects, flowers, berries and certain types of seeds.

It is mostly dark grey-brown above, with faint white shafts on each of the feathers. The eye is blue-grey and the sexes are similar in appearance.

I am on a bird lucky-streak right now and this is my 8th bird out of my last 12 blips! Not sure I can keep this up much longer with my feathered friends, with this bird another first for BlipBigYear!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.