A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Glorious Bath

As I saw the girls off this morning I was excited to see a tinge of pink in the sky towards Batheasten.

It got better and better turning into an unexpectedly lovely blue sky morning.

I walked down into the village of Larkhall thinking that if I found a bus was due I’d take it into Bath. There was a 22 minute wait so as it was so nice I decided I would walk through the village and onto the London Road into the city. I took a slight detour over the Cleveland Bridge, currently undergoing repairs, which brought me to the other side of the Pulteney Bridge. The Georgian houses of Laura Place are lovely and there were a couple of good charity shops there too.

As I approached the Pulteney Bridge there was a sign pointing down some steps saying River Walk. So I had a lovely walk looking back towards the bridge and weir and then across to the magnificent Bath Abbey beyond the Parade Gardens.

I took these lovely shots on this brief excursion. 

It was a coffee time and as I crossed back into town I came to Sally Lunns eating house - said to be the oldest house in Bath - extra
 I have been before many years ago when visiting Bath long before Grace had any connection here. I decided to go in again and had a coffee accompanied by half a toasted Sally Lunn  Bath bunn, ( half is enough it’s as big as your plate), you could have it with strawberry or blackcurrant jam which, according to the menu,  was the Queens preference so that’s what I had!
I realised after back in M&S that I could have had a free coffee there but it was nice to have a different experience (extra)

I wandered up to Waterstones for a browse before heading into Waitrose to complete my days mission which was to get some Lemon Grass for Grace.

The bus stop is just across the road so I happily got the bus back to Larkhall. The only problem was that I now had a bag full of stuff to carry up that hill!

Spent the afternoon doing a bit of sewing in front of the TV before having a nap! Woke up as the sun was setting over the city and I arranged to meet Grace at the bottom of Bailbrook Lane to go and collect the girls. The sun is definitely setting later.

We had delicious Asian fish cakes for tea ( supper - Eda tells me off!) so worth the mission.

I’ve done just short of 15,000 steps today, a better number for me I think but I’ve spent a lot more! There must be some message there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.