A chance meeting

Thursday 27th January 2022

We had a Chapter Quiet morning in Southport today, a time of reflection and renewal. I went for lunch with my curate afterwards. It was originally my intention to come home and work this afternoon but the sun was out and I felt relaxed so I decided to make the most of the day with some time off. 

I went for a walk along the pier and around the marine lake, testing the camera on the phone as I went. As I crossed the bridge I spotted Alice in Wonderland and then noticed her two companions, they were on a DIY photoshoot. 

Unnaturally for me, I stopped and asked if they would mind me taking their photo for blip. They were very happy with that and asked if I could take one of the three of them on their phone. I got them to move slightly for composition. Handing the phone back they were very pleased with the photo. I said I do a bit of photography. "Oh wow, wish we'd known, we would have employed you. We're from Liverpool and didn't know any photographers here." I explained that I'm not a professional photographer, I'm a priest. One said. "Amazing. I'm Catholic. Would you give us a blessing." I replied, "I'm Cof E. Yes, I will." We then had a little prayer together. They were delightful.  A most enjoyable encounter.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.