Bath. Robe.

The last couple of pandemic-centric years have really ramped up my naturally anxious and risk-averse tendencies to the point where I’m not much inclined to go anywhere or do anything anymore without a lot of soul-searching and fretting.

M has been patient/long-suffering about this way beyond the call of duty, but was determined to challenge me about it, as gently as possible, in order to give me what amounted to a birthday which was “practically perfect in every way”. I’m so glad she did.

The day began with a ferry ‘cross the Mersey as the sun was rising, followed by a hearty breakfast at Lovelock’s. Suitably fuelled, we visited some footwear and art shops in search of hiking boots and picture frames. Naturally, it was then time for another light repast, so we high-tailed it to FACT where the café was bathed in sunlight. Blood sugar levels restored, we headed upstairs to Screen 1 for a showing of Kenneth Branagh’s excellent, autobiographical, ‘Belfast’. I had wondered whether this may be a touch too saccharine for me but I needn’t have worried. Within minutes I had been both charmed and terrified, and that’s more or less how I continued to feel throughout. The cinematography was glorious and the cast was terrific. I thoroughly recommend it. My only discomfort was with the extensive use of Van Morrison as a soundtrack. I understand that, as a Belfast Protestant who was making music contemporaneous with the storyline, he was an obvious choice. But, personally, I’ve just never ‘got’ him as an artist, and have huge issues with his recent anti-vax stance. Still, each to their own. 

We emerged blinking into the sunlight and walked up the hill to Hope Street where M had booked us a room at the rather swanksome Hope Street Hotel! What larks to be a tourist in my own back yard! We had an excellent view of the Philharmonic Hall, and a luxurious bathroom/wet room at our disposal. Bliss! 

In the evening we strolled down the road for a superb meal at The Pen Factory before retiring for the night. Honestly, I couldn’t have asked for a better birthday. Heartfelt thanks to M for her thoughtfulness and generosity.

Tomorrow, we’re planning a slap-up breakfast at the hotel’s 1931 restaurant, before a tour of the Georgian Quarter, the University of Liverpool campus and the Metropolitan cathedral, finishing with a walk back down to the river and a visit to the Museum of Liverpool. 

Happy days, indeed. I’m very lucky. 

Here’s Liverpool lad Paul McCartney, with Wings... www.youtube.com/watch?v=KzH-2NgtaZk 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.