Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

30

Wakefield Registry Office, 30 years ago today.

I wanted to go and get married in our lunch break from work, but I was persuaded to have some family there, then to have some flowers and a cake. I refused to have a photographer though - a friend took a few informal snaps. 

In the morning I wandered down to a local hairdresser and asked them to plait my hair - they were horrified that I hadn’t been for a practice run! I am not one for weddings - except for this year when my niece, nephew, son’s best friend and son himself are all getting married. 

Left to right, Chris, my step-dad, who was 46. 
My mother-in-law Shirley, who was 57, the same age I shall be this year. She died of cancer  at the young age of 78. 
Me and John, both fresh-faced 26 year olds, the same age David will be when he marries later this year. 
My Mum, Menenza, who was 54 - how is it possible that she was younger then than I am now? She’s still going strong, living in Plymouth (with Chris, her toy boy).
My father-in-law, Derek, he was 62 here. He died in the first weeks of the 2020 lockdown, aged 90. 

I am glad we have the snaps - when you’re young you don’t fully appreciate how important it will be later to look back at the people who knew you then.

My reward for the anniversary was to be kept up all night by the dog, who seems to have had a bit of a relapse. She’s ensuring I max out the waking hours….. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.