The Silent Traveller

Another dull and drizzly day today - I haven’t been out! (Oh yes I have - I’ve just been out on to the deck for 30 seconds to get some air!)
 
Spent several hours this morning on Photo Club stuff. We have a recorded judging of our ‘Slow shutter speed/long exposure’ competition this evening, so I’ve been sorting out the recordings received from the judge and putting them on the Club laptop along with the images. I’ve tested it and all seems to be well, so I’m hoping I haven’t forgotten anything!
 
Having just finished my latest library book this morning I pulled one almost at random from my shelf. Chiang Yee’s ‘The Silent Traveller in London’. He was an amazing man (if anyone wants to know more then here he is - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chiang_Yee) but best known as a poet, author and artist. He wrote and illustrated some 30 books of which I have 20, including all of his 12 ‘Silent Traveller’ series. He used to say that on his travels he kept quiet, watched and listened, so his books are his own gentle observations. I love them! The illustration in the 'London' book is entitled 'Summer afternoon in Kew Gardens.'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.