ABSTRACT THURSDAY

Our Town Council has gradually been replacing the ordinary street lamp bulbs with LED bulbs, which are very much brighter than the old ones and throw the light over a much greater area, which is quite important in an area where there can be a lot of traffic.

Slightly to the left of our property at the back is a large traffic roundabout and last Sunday morning all the light bulbs on the lamp posts on this island were replaced. Partway through the evening, Rik, our next door neighbour, whose house backs right onto the roundabout, messaged me to say how bright it was and how the lights illuminated all the trees so I went and had a quick peek.

When I went to bed, I looked through our landing window again and we did, indeed, have our own light show!  I “twizzled” the Venetian blind so that it was open and therefore threw lots of light onto our landing, then went to bed. I had to get up at 4.30 am for my nightly bathroom jaunt - and people of a certain age will know what I mean - and saw it was so bright that I went halfway down the stairs to have another look through the window;  it was so quiet with no traffic and looked quite magical through the trees and there are a lot on this particular traffic island. 

As I walked back upstairs, I could see my shadow on the airing cupboard door, and thought it would make a good mono shot for Monday. I grabbed my phone, took a photograph, then job done, I went back to bed.  However, once I had looked at it in the morning, thought that it would make a much better abstract shot.

Mr. HCB went up to bed at about 11.15 p.m. but knowing I wanted to get a shot of the shadows for Abstract Thursday, I waited until just after midnight to be in line with Blip’s ethos of taking a photograph ON the actual day.   I stood on the stairs again, and this was the result.  I haven’t superimposed anything, this was just how the shot came out, the only thing I did was turn it into a mono shot, used the Carbon app to put a frame round it and et voilà - my offering for Abstract Thursday.  

One other really good thing about the new bright lights is that we no longer need to have a “night light” at the top of our stairs, which we always left on for safety purposes when going to the bathroom in the middle of the night. So for us, a win/win situation - I know we will only save pennies, but every little helps!

“In the right light, 
     at the right time, 
          everything is extraordinary.”  
Aaron Rose

P.S.  I have woken up with a sore throat this morning so have postponed my coffee meet up with a friend - but have tested negative, so hope it will ease during the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.