Chester FC 5 Southport 0

Chester were outstanding today and great value for their 5-0 win. It was easily the best performance of the season and a massive contrast to the awful performance at Boston last week. I believe that Southport had only been beaten once in the previous 15 games while for Chester it was the first win in 7.

On reflection I think the defeat at Boston was the out of character display. In the previous games there had been improvements and the points tally didn't really reflect the way we had been playing. In 3 of the games we lost points in injury time and I was told that they played very well against 2nd placed Brackley only to concede an own goal in injury time. As a regular fan it is fascinating discussing with friends how things have changed since Steve Watson took charge and the little things have made a big difference

Anyway it is a performance to build on and Im looking forward to the next game.

The photo shows Man of the Match Declan Weeks with his award. I completely agreed with the decision as he bossed midfield and scored a fantastic goal but there were no bad performances. I wish I had made a better effort framing this photo but I find it difficult something like this with an iPhone.

Thank you for all the stars and hearts for yesterday's barn owl. I think I will struggle to take a better shot this year.

  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.