Incongruous

The man at the garage had told me that my eBay deal looked good – the seller had seen me watching it and offered me a pound off – and to bring the new tail light, which he had said would be old stock, and Henry round when the tail light arrived. It came today, so I went round.

The man was busy, and the other man wasn’t there, so another man – a driving instructor, apparently – said he’d do it. The man was ok with this, so I thought the driving instructor must know what he was doing. He did seem to know what he was doing, and he said he’d had a car like Henry before.

When he’d finished and we’d tested all the lights, the other man said to ask the man how much it would be, given that I’d supplied the parts, except the bulb, and the driving instructor had done the labour. The man waived the cost of the bulb, and I called him a sweetie. I think that rendered him rather speechless.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.