A sile, a druid & St Gobnait

Hang on, you wait months for one, the two come along at once - haven't I just had a blip birthday? 

Thankfully forewarned that one was approaching I didn't blip yesterday so that I could celebrate with St Gobnait for today the 11th of February is her feast day and yes, it's my 11th blip birthday! Impeccable timing. Actually  I started way back in May 2010 and have somehow mislaid 9 months - not sure where. Anyway, I zoomed over to Ballyvourney where it was all happening. I met Gail from Kerry, another well enthusiast and we were just paying our resects to the ancient oak statue of the saint only brought out on the day (see extra, note sanitiser) when Gail recognised Julie, the Dingle Druid! We repaired to the Mill Inn for an enormous scone and coffee and a lot of chat, then paid the rounds as you do. Business was brisk. Julie the Dingle Druid had not been to St Abán's Well so we navigated a small ford, tramped across some some exceptionally wet fields and then followed the rustic signs into the woods. Away from the madding crowds, this place just hums with hair tingling vibes.

I've added loads of extras but will remove them shortly. I'm too wrecked to tell you about St Gobnait but I'm sure you remember me banging on about her before - bees, deers and a strong woman basically. And Tivoli your bee earrings were worn and admired.

Oh, and the main pic is Julie rubbing the small carving above the window - variously described as a sile na gig (female exhibitionist figure) or even St Gobnait herself. One of the stopping points in the pilgrimage. 

Please don't feel you have to say nice things about me so soon after my 4000th blip, I'm still glowing from that!  And we all know this is an exceptional site full of exceptional people. I'll leave it at that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.