rogier64

By rogier64

Second And Last Day At The Pieperrace

Not much wind today.
Again we started late to find more wind and not to be hindered by the taller ships.
After the first half of the race we lost 5 minutes of our lead, leaving us with just 2 minutes lead.
In the second half we hoisted our Halfwinder, a very big sail of 255 sq meters! We sailed very well and finished with a 16 minutes lead!
So, we became the champions in our class, the big clippers (although we are a small clipper)!!
Because of our results in the past, we were classified in the class of the big clippers, instead of the small clippers, resulting in tougher competition for us.

Because these type of races with such old ships are so rare worldwide I chose this blip. But I had my doubts. At the starting line the second day, I saw this Botter, the EB 60. I didn't know she was also in Volendam. It is a ship that was co-owned by my father, back in the fifties. Very special for me to see her here in all its glory!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.