Sigur Rós

Finally. I listened attentively and watched spellbound as my favorite band performed live on stage. It was a sacrifice: two nights before my Neuro II final..but I think it was worth it.

The ethereal music was overwhelming; the only movement in the theatre was Jónsi on stage.

I kinda love the fact that I don't know most of their song titles, so I couldn't react with, "Oh, I love _______!" But I listen to this music on repeat, on shuffle, on continuous playback. Who needs names when you know the chords, the crescendos, and the nuances of each song?

This experience was in stark contrast to the earlier part of my day.. which I will recount later when I get to my computer instead of clacking away on my iPhone "keyboard".

-----
I have a confession and it's a delirious confession. I'm so tired and stressed out and feel so crazy and much like there is something wrong with my brain... but I love this photo. I love bokeh. I loved listening to music last night for what felt like the first time in a very long time. To just be able to sit down and enjoy it. I closed my eyes and I just tapped along to the beats that I know and love.

We interviewed patients with traumatic brain injuries (TBI) yesterday. It was so unbelievably fascinating. I cannot wrap my brain around it, honestly. I want to understand more. Our first patient had very little inhibitions. (Okay.. none, at all. It was a little awesome. Okay, fine. A lot awesome.) Needless to say, I got along very well with him. I liked being able to talk to him in a way that let me express who I am and connect with him where he is. I love joking around with people and being real and sincere and just human. That's one reason why I love foreign languages so much; I love connecting with people where they are. So to be able to ask him questions and find out what makes him tick, what makes him stressed out, what stops him from killing himself, and what keeps him sane... it was interesting.

Favorite clinical interviewing session -- hands down.

I'm excited about this whole 'future doctor' thing I have going for me. Where will it take me? What will I learn next? How can I connect with more people? This is what I was made for. Even in my most deliriously tired state of constant studying and memorizing and learning brain lesions and strokes, I'm here.. on my way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.