Interference

Beyonc'e (no, not that one) is a very light colored Grey Squirrel that C has become friends with. This morning Beyonc'e was in big trouble! A very large  Red-shouldered Hawk (see the first *extra...) had her in it's sights to be brunch. I just happened to be walking through the area with my camera and heard her plaintive cries. Spotting the large hawk on an upside down garbage can I took a few shots. Beyonc'e was on the trunk of an oak tree maybe 5-6ft from the hungry hawk. I kept shooting as I slowly walked toward the drama unfolding in our side yard. The hawk never moved while I approached, as she was focused like a laser on the squirrel. Then the bird turned and stared right at me (check the second *extra...)! I moved closer and closer and she finally gave up the hunt and flew off. 
I normally wouldn't interfere with a natural encounter such as this but...hey, that squirrel's a family friend! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.