The Railway Bridge

Our blue sky is gone.
No sunshine to bring out the
colours of morning

~ carliewired

I was awake very early so I spent time prepping for a lunch for my daughter. At 8:30 it was 0 C and I decided I 'd better get out there with my camera. I drove down to the north end of Schubert Drive so I could have a look around the bridges along the Rivers Trail. 

I caught the Canadian National engine just coming up on the railway bridge. It was pulling a very long freight coming into the junction on the east side of the North Thompson River. The mix of cars had everything - vehicle cars, ore cars, tankers... It rattled over the bridge for a long time while I took my other photos. I looked across the river to my mountains . I'm always surprised by the number of tracks I see on the river. I noticed that ducks are being fed beside the bridge footings. A small flock of mallards was cleaning up cereal or grain. They eyed me suspiciously, then took off to the river. There were many walkers enjoying the trail. The patches of ice are getting smaller. I caught the 'pusher' engine crossing the bridge. It sits in the middle of the train and gives an indication of the weight of the train. No pusher at the end today, so the load wasn't very heavy. 

I'm home today and will have my daughter's company at some point this morning. 

The forecast indicates we might expect some snow flurries or rain. Nothing so far at midmorning. The high today could be 4 C. We're in a warming trend this week. I'd like to see the snow disappear entirely but that may usher in mud instead. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.