A favourite oak

For some reason, I thought that today was Joe Tree day, so I took a few photos of trees to pay tribute to Joe, the founder of this fantastic site. I can't find any tags for it, so maybe I'm confused.  I included an extra of another tree that stood out so well against the others in the background. I decided on the oak because it's a tree I always admire when we walk past it. I went on a short trail that we haven't walked for years. It led to the old gravel pit then back down to the road and the main trail. Good to explore somewhere different, even if it is only for a few hundred yards (not that my estimation skills are any good).
G decided to remove an old cedar stump that had rotted. Quite the job not only removing the stump but also the big rocks that had been positioned around it. G had to cut the tree down years ago because it was too big beside the house. We were both really sad to see it go. Now I'll miss the stump! Not sure yet how we'll fill the space, but it will have to be with something that the deer don't eat. Maybe more daffodils! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.