Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Birthday Girl! (And A Change of Plans!)

Thursday
I drove to London late this afternoon to see my niece and her family. The main reason was to help celebrate Jasmine’s birthday - the youngest of my two great-nieces. Jasmine turns 6 tomorrow and we had a birthday lunch planned at Pizza Express. My plan was to spend 1 or 2 nights, dependant on storm Eunice which is on its way!

I stopped first for a walk at Windsor Great Park, and let them know I was on my way when I finished my walk. I’d timed it badly and had to drive during rush hour. Then while I was driving I got THREE calls one right after the other from my niece and my sister (who was already there). I don’t have a hands-free set in the car, and there was nowhere to pull over to call them back.

Once I got to their house, I found out the urgency. Jasmine’s older sister had JUST tested positive for covid. This changed everything, and obviously I headed home. How sad!! Aneeta is feeling ok. It took them by surprise as the whole family are testing every day as there is a new baby arriving in the next 2-3 weeks.

I decided it was safe enough to enter the house as Aneeta was staying upstairs. I had a quick cup of tea and asked Jasmine if she would like to open her presents from me. That made her happy. She LOVES unicorns, as you can see on her PJs! So her presents kept up with that theme.

So off I went back home, an hours drive. With the big storm coming tomorrow it might not be such a bad idea to be home and keep an eye on things!

For a couple of pictures from my walk, see the extra photo. On the left is the Virginia Water Totem Pole - a gift from the people of Canada to HM The Queen in 1954. The lake is not Virginia Water Lake, but the smaller Obelisk Lake near Saville Gardens. I stopped there and had a flask of coffee and a small cake while I enjoyed the view. It was good to be out in the calm between our two storms this week - Dudley just came through and now we’re waiting for the even more ferocious Eunice!

Two blips posted in a row. Feel free to scroll back if you wish!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.