Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Really!

Saturday today and we woke to a beautiful sunny morning, calm and still and no sign of snow or other untoward weather phenomena than goodness.
Ali and Stuart came over with baby Josie at lunchtime to be with great nana while Colin and I went to a memorial service for a member of our congregation. She died in May 2020 during the first lockdown when all gatherings, even outdoors were banned and her funeral was immediate family only. We had gathered in the streets as the hearse went past, but there was no chance for a proper goodbye. Today we had that chance and around 100 family and friends gathered in church for a memorial celebration. The sun shone and as I opened the door at the end of the service the Blue Danube was being played in the church and the birds were singing in the memorial garden as we gathered for the burial of her ashes. Perfect.
The service was followed by an afternoon tea in the hall. I'm sure she would have been happy to see people smiling and reminiscing as they tucked in.
Another quiet evening. Colin and I watched the first episode of Pure, but I'm not sure we'll watch any more.
More people that we know are testing positive, soon we're going to be the only ones left.
I was amused to read the instructions for my new anti - fogging glasses cloth today. I always read instructions! These cloths do work, but the idea that there is a need for a warning not to use them on contact lenses or eyes suggests that some people should not be allowed out! I hadn't realised that there was a problem for contact lens wearers wearing masks in any case! Duh!
Keep safe folks hope the storm left you all safe

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.