Now that's more like it!

This entire entry is nerdy stuff about about baking bread, so I won't be in the least bit offended if you want to just skip to the next picture.
A few days ago I mentioned that I seemed to have lost the knack of producing sourdough bread with good ovenspring. I wondered if I was overworking the dough, leading to over-fermentation. I decided that on my next bake I would handle the dough a lot less, and see what happened.
On Saturday Roger and Livia gave me a Swedish baking book for my birthday, Bröd Bröd Bröd by Martin Johansson, and today I baked the first recipe from the book.
Now, it wasn't sourdough, but it used many of the same techniques and only a very small amount of yeast. It is also a no-kneading bread so the preparation involves a certain amount of waiting around, but very little work with the dough. So, it was just what I wanted to try.
I am very satisfied with the visual result. It looks very good, to me at least. I haven't actually tasted the product yet, or cut it open to check the crumb.  That will probably be at breakfast tomorrow.
There are a couple more points I need to remember...
An added ingredient, not in the recipe, is 180g gooseberry jam, which had started to ferment and needed using up. This makes the dough sweeter than usual and the extra sugar may have led to the charred edge of the ear, where the bread opened up as it baked.
Most recipes say heat the oven to temperature 30 - 60 minutes before you bake. In these days of expensive energy Foodgeek did an experiment putting his sourdough into a cold oven and letting the bread bake as the oven warmed up. It worked really well!  My dough was placed into my oven at about 100°C as it warmed to 230°C (Inside an iron pot, a Dutch oven). It also worked fine, saving me time and electricity.
Okay, that's enough about home-baking, at least it makes a change from snow and forest!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.