Nicktor's news

By Nicktor

Port Vale 1 Shots 1

Manic week continued with the morning spent in Reigate, and then driving up to Stoke with my friend Andy. We made such good progress driving up that we were able to check into the hotel we were staying in, get changed and get a taxi to take us to Burslem (where the ground is located) so that we could start supping some ale before 4.00. That gave us over 3 hours to sample some cracking beers from the local Titanic Brewery (we had to ask - and apparantly it's because Captain Smith came from around those parts. Although why you would want to commemorate a man that sailed a huge great big boat into an iceberg and caused the death of so many people ....?)

I digress. This was Andy's first game as a new Shots fan. Actually they are my words rather than his, but he's coming next week to watch us play the TEG so my thinking is that he will be hooked by then by which time a fan he will be!

We set up a Shots corner in the pub, and were soon joined by some of the travelling throng. I'm still not sure whether this was a good idea or not, because the fans who sat with us were slightly odd and geeky. Howard was wearing a Jack Howarth knitted jumper (and matching bobble hat). I didn't catch the name of the chap who is a walking version of the bits of wikipedia that no one ever looks at. He may have told me, and I may have chosen to block it out!

But stealed by several hours worth of ale, we went to the game and saw the once again Mighty Shots at times outplay the team who are second in the league (and scored 7 in their last match). Vale supporters in the pub afterwards said that we were probably the better team and deserved to win. I'd agree, but then again I say that every time!

Michael Rankine had been recalled from his loan spell at York, and came on as a second half substitute with Paul McLelland and Ranks set Paul up to score our equaliser. We dominated large parts of the second half and once again came away slightly disappointed that we couldn't sneak a win. But a point at Vale is a very good point indeed. Not sure I like their ground that much - too big for them and too much concrete, but genuinely lovely fans, and I wish them well

Wycombe away to look forward to on Saturday. Come on the Shots!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.