The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Ash Meadow beech

I was expecting to wake up to snow this morning, and instead it was Putin invading Ukraine.  For the last couple of weeks we have been told that this was what he was planning, but somehow I couldn't believe he would do it.  And for what?  And where does it lead to? These are horrible and frightening times for the people of the country, with consequences for all of us in Europe.

It's been difficult to concentrate on anything else today.  We did slip out in the afternoon to run a few errands, and we dropped in on P & T.  And they were understanding enough when I left them and C for 15 minutes to see if I could catch the sunset.  I didn't quite make it, the sun sank into cloud just as I arrived.  So here is the big Ash Meadow beech that overhangs the sea wall, with Grange on the other side of the estuary at high tide.  I've photographed this so many times before in winter when the sun sets beyond the ramifying curtain of twigs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.