Five things

By fivethings

A place between dark and light

1. I'm reading Far From The Madding Crowd and each evening, without fail, I read something that stops me in my tracks.

2. Some times that stop is the briefest of pauses, a beat.

3. Some times it's more than a moment, admiration at those words in that order saying something I haven't heard before.

4. And some times it's like climbing a hill, reaching the top and stopping, the sun in your face taking in the panoramic view laid before you, breathing deep. All in a few words.

5. "Her emblazoned fault was to be too pronounced in her objections, and not sufficiently overt in her likings. We learn that it is not the rays which bodies absorb, but those which they reject, that give them the colours they are known by."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.