Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

Omni Centre giraffes

Instantly recognisable and I'm very fond of them. I've certainly blipped them before, but not when there has been total carnage behind them. I did start to have a go at disguising it, but decided I would rather keep it as a memento of the latest tram works. There is worse still out of the picture, to the left. Can't remember how long they have already been at it, and who knows when it will finish. Still, I guess the trams will suit some folk who live along the route. I've been on a tram a couple of times out to Ingliston and back from the airport and I liked the smooth ride, much better than a jerky bus.

Here's a bit about the giraffes which were created by Midlothian born artist Helen Denerley and unveiled on 27th July 2005. It's taken from Forever Edinburgh which I've just discovered while googling the giraffes.

"The two giraffes, nicknamed Martha and Gilbert, were made from scrap metal including parts from cars and motorbikes. The inscription surrounding the sculpture is from a poem by Roy Campbell, written in 1946, and reads “'Giraffes! a People Who live between earth and skies Each in his own religious steeple Keeping a lighthouse with his eyes.” "

I have to say that I've never noticed the inscription, I must remember to look out for it when I'm next in that part of town.

Anyway, I took the brave step of going to the cinema for the second time since lockdown and saw Almodovar's Parallel Mothers which was excellent as expected. I think there were about four other people in the cinema and we were all well spaced out. When I booked my seat online, the default was sitting next to about the only other seat that was already taken. Why does it do that?? The trip was definitely a success and I may well do it again soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.