Barnacle Bill*(s)

I've seen a goose and I've seen a barnacle and now I have seen a barnacle goose. What I haven't seen IRL is a goose barnacle. I have seen Cheeryoscuro's goose barnacle blip though. :)

It was a completely different day weather-wise; sunny, calm and mild. Ollie dog and I went to see if we could get shots of the flock of barnacle geese that I saw through the bins yesterday. Unsurprisingly they were in the Goosefield. I'm absolutely fascinated by how it was thought that these geese originated from goose barnacles, which are said to look like them. It was such a strongly held belief that Catholics were allowed to eat the geese on Fridays as they were classified as fish!

We walked to the site of the Grand Weir Hide, which I was surprised to see has been demolished. On the way I photographed a pair of large handsome shelducks. I've seen them at the coast but never inland before. (Extras) 

*The original theme tune of Blue Peter. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.